Additional cards not connecting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2008, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Unhappy Additional cards not connecting

I've got the Antec 1200.

I've been trying to get the display working on the computer.

The onboard video appears to be disabled and when adding a graphicas card, it is too long to fit into the board and casing.

The metal on the card to fit into the casing is too thick.

The motherboard is an AM2 Athlon 6000 Dual core processor.

The cards I've tried to use are Radeon All-In-One Wonder 7500 and Radeon Sapphire 9200.

The cards are the same length.

Do you know if the PCI Express Video Card is not as long and would be able to fit into the casing and motherboard.
__________________

raulworth is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 04:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

the Antec 1200 easily large enough to fit the Radeon 9xxx series cards... the radeon 9200 series uses the AGP interface... if you've got a new mobo which has PCIe, you'll need a new card which utilises the newer PCIe interface... there's a whole bunch of cheap one around these days... the Radeon HD 38xx or 48xx series are good value for money, or the GeForce 8800/9600GT will serve you well
__________________

__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 06:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
rustle rustle
 
35g700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,580
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

What kind of motherboard do you have? An AM2 Athlon 6000 Dual core processor is not a motherboard.


Just about any video card should fit fine in a antec 1200, may be it is an AGP card but a PCIe bus?
__________________
Core i7 8700K @ 4.8GHz - Asus Z370-E - Gigabyte GTX 970 - 16GB DDR4 3000MHz - 500GB Samsung 960 EVO - Windows 10 Pro x64
Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro 13.3" - 2.6GHz core i5 - 16GB DDR3 1600MHz - 128GB - macOS High Sierra
Sony PS3 & PS4 500GB || iPhone 6s 64GB iOS 11 || Sony a6000
35g700 is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 01:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

These are the specifications of the motherboard bundle.

The motherboard is a:
ECS GeForce6100PM-M2 motherboard with performance heatsink and fan

Bundled Package Contents
Extreme performance gaming bundle
6000 AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core processor
1GB DDR2 800Mhz KINGSTON memory included
Socket 940 AM2 processor
ECS GeForce6100PM-M2 motherboard with performance heatsink and fan
Geforce6100/ nforce430 chipset
Onboard Nvidia® Geforce 6100GS graphics supporting up to 256MB
Fast PCI-Express X16 graphics port for future graphics expansion
AMD® ''Cool ‘n’ Quiet'' technology
sHyperTransport™ technology
Supports dual-channel DDR2 533/667/800 up to 8GB
6-channel audio
10/100 LAN for for ultra-fast networking and broadband
Expansion slots: 1 x PCI-E X8, 1 x PCI Express X1, 2 x PCI slots
Supports 4 x SATA devices, RAID 0 and RAID 1
1x IDE port for 2 x Ultra DMA133 devices, 4 x USB 2.0 ports
AMD LIVE ready and Windows Vista ready

Metal Covering Ports
The metal at the back of the PC, to be removed when adding additional cards, is not as thick as the graphic cards.

The metal covering the ports latches on with a hook and then the standard screw at the top of the panel, securing it in place.

This metal should slot into a part of the casing, but is too thick for the graphics card to slot into.
raulworth is offline  
Old 10-27-2008, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

u need a new gfx card that is pci-e, ur trying to put a agp card in a pci-e slot

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

AGP


PCI-Express
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

Yes sir, you need a pci-e graphics card, that's your problem. Looks like you're trying to install an agp or pci card into the new pci-e slot and that's just not going to work. PCI Express is totally different.

And I'm pretty sure your mobo's integrated video is at least as powerful as either of the cards you listed, anyways, even if they were compatible.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 05:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

another one(u have the bottom one, u need the top one to run ur cards):



agin(u have top):
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Angry Re: monitor not being detected

Added a second video card 'ASUS GF8400GS PCI-E 256mb DDR2' to the PCI-E slot.

Upon booting up the machine, the monitor still displays a no signal message.

Any suggestions.

Am sure I'm overlooking something very basic.
raulworth is offline  
Old 10-31-2008, 12:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
nderscore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to nderscore
Default Re: Additional cards not connecting

Did you remember to plug in the 4 pin connector on the motherboard? (It is a white plastic connector located left of the middle of the board, if looking at the motherboard installed in the standard case layout.)
__________________

nderscore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Nvidia Plans Another Re-Branding of Graphics Cards. (..again) veg1992 New Technology and Products 21 10-10-2008 07:31 PM
Upgrading Questions! yoshi1476 System Upgrades 14 09-30-2008 09:36 AM
Graphics cards comparison Neopopulas New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-02-2008 04:33 PM
GeForce 6, 7, 8 cards finally getting new drivers next week maroon1 New Technology and Products 19 05-05-2008 08:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.