9600XT bottleneck? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2006, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default 9600XT bottleneck?

What would be an average system that would NOT bottle neck a 9600XT? I know this isn't a state-of-the-art card, but I would not consider myself a gamer by any means, I just use my computer for general usage, audio editing, and older games.

But right now I'm using a Celeron 1.8 GHz, with 512+128 MB of DDR266 RAM. And I'm guessing this is limiting my video card, as I'm not able to get very good framerates in even older games.

I'm thinking of upgrading to an Atlon 2800+ 64 bit, with a gig of DDR400 RAM. Would this drastically increase performance? I'm pretty tight on money lately, and I'd like to be sure if the upgrade would be worth it.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Dude, drastically doesn't even come close to the word to describe the difference you'll notice. Although I think that it would be best to get an Athlon 3000 socket 939. What's your budget?
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

You should see a very big performance increase. I mean, a 1.8 Ghz celeron is crazy slow.
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

..................didnt we already clear this up, gaara said that cpus cannot bottleneck a GPU.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
..................didnt we already clear this up, gaara said that cpus cannot bottleneck a GPU.
whaa? of course they do.. everything that the gpu processes eventually is proccessed by the cpu. that's what i always thought... amiright?
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 12:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

r u sure? that what was the long a55 post that gaara made about this CPU/GPU Bottlenecking business?
john3 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 12:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

you're taking gaara's statement out of context. for starters you don't want to take ridiculous scenarios to prove him wrong ie 7800gs with K6-II or something like that. generally the bottleneck isn't due to graphics its due to the fact that the games with higher graphics need more cpu power for physics etc
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 10:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
you're taking gaara's statement out of context. for starters you don't want to take ridiculous scenarios to prove him wrong ie 7800gs with K6-II or something like that. generally the bottleneck isn't due to graphics its due to the fact that the games with higher graphics need more cpu power for physics etc
yes, actually, that makes perfect sense. I haev a 9600XT myself, and playing CS:S, I only get 20 FPS whether I'm at completely bottomed-out graphics (DX7.0 mode and turn everything off through autoexec.cfg) or completely maxed out at 1280x1024 res, AAx6, Anistropic x16, all details set on high, HDR, color correction, vsync, the works... Obviously, my 1.6 GHz P4 and my 512 Mb of PC100 SDRAM are insufficient to process the physics and scripts in CS:S, the average person would see that as bottlenecking, its not really. The graphics are being processed fine, just the physics and scripts aren't... and man, I have one **** of a time at trying to host a local game to play with bots, even just having one opponent pretty much destroys this crap PC of mine.
__________________

__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.