7900gto sli - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default 7900gto sli

Hey all, just wondering, will 2 7900gto's in sli work on my current setup (see my sig for details) or will i need to upgrade for the mobo and processor as well?

I was originally going to go for an e6600 and an 8800gtx but i decided against it just before the checkout! so i've decided to go for seeing if i can just upgrade what i already have by a bit.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

um yes.....but...your sempron will bottle neck it lethally, to where it wouldnt be worth it....
i would upgrade your porcessor first....then worry about a new GPU
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

right. ok then. what about with an AM2 Athlon 64 3200? would they run in sli with that?
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

better....should see a big performance gain compared to your sempron, but yet....not quite as good performance as it should be.....i think an athlon 3700 or athlon X2 4200 or athlon FX series would be fine. on the intel side, a E6300 or better would do the trick.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default

i'll have a look at the 3700. i want to keep things as cheap as possible. thanks for your help.

EDIT: i'm continuing this over in the high performance forum
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.