786mb ddr400 or 1024mb ddr333 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 05:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 43
Default 786mb ddr400 or 1024mb ddr333

which one would be a better and faster choice to install, 1024mb ddr333 or 786mb ddr400?

ddr333 is 2x512mb(one ddr400 and one ddr333)
ddr400 is 1x512mb(ddr400)1x256mb(ddr400)
should i put the 1024mb ddr333 in because there wouldnt be that much performance gain??
__________________

gully2005 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 08:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

You cant use a ddr333 with a ddr400 they have to be the same speed. either go for the 1 x 512 + 1 x 256 or better would be to buy either 2 x 512 matched pair or 1 x 1024.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

ummmmmm yes you can...it will just clock to the lowest speed ram...

the best would be to get 2x512 ddr400 for 65$ on newegg
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.