3gb too much? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default 3gb too much?

I currently have 1gb of RAM in my system (2 512) and they're dual channel. i want to get more ram, so i'm thinking for the future, i'll buy 2gb of it right now, and use it with my 1gb i have, and have 3gb total. i've heard that windows acutally runs slower on 3gb and so do some games? is this true?

If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

2gb is really all you'll ever need unless your in some big business. or at least it will be for a while. after 2gb memory addressing gets sloppy and it can actually take a hit on performance. only x64 windows and id assume the beta's of vista support more than 3gb

Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
molsen's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen

besides, with 3gb you won't be able to run in dual channel which will decrease performance also.

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

32 bit windows only supports 2GB
turtile is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350

Hahahaha.. Imagine getting 16gb's....
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841

Originally posted by Kitire
Hahahaha.. Imagine getting 16gb's....
NathanM is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350


This motherboard = 16gb max supported


These 4gb ram sticks x4 = 16gb
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 01:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300

just get a server mobo... those can get like 32 gb ram... imagine that.. with dual cpu... insane
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 01:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Originally posted by turtile
32 bit windows only supports 2GB
actually it's 4GB
there are 64-bit Operating System's like Mandrake 64, if you want to use more than 4GB
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-26-2006, 08:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

I was almost certain it was 3gb... but maybe you've tried it?



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.