3 Stick of RAM disables dual channel? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2006, 11:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

socket 754 doesn't support dual channel anyway. though I've heard that it often downclocks your memory if all 3 banks are filled, so it is best if you have a maximum of 2 sticks running on a s754 system.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-18-2006, 11:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 134
Default

Ok ta
__________________

dreaming<>demon is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 12:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Either it sounds like you are contracticting each other, or im misunderstanding
you're misunderstanding.

you said so yourself:

Quote:
Can i have 2 different sets of dual channel ram will they both work on dual channel.
and I'm saying no. The way you worded it here makes it sound like you're under the impression you can have two pairs, each running in dual channel almost like saying dual channel times 2 or something.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 07:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Just to add, you can have 2 pairs of sticks different sizes in dual channel. e.g. 2x 256 and 2x 512 in dual channel.
not simultaneous though?
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 07:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

No.

You can't put in 2x256 and then 2x512 and expect dual channel. Either by themself will give you dual channel, but not if all 4 are plugged in.

If it was 4x512mb then it'd run in dual channel assuming all sticks are the same and the mobo will support it. Some motherboards downclock the RAM if all 4 slots are filled up and they are double sided RAM modules.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 05:22 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
You can't put in 2x256 and then 2x512 and expect dual channel.
I have run that set up on 2 motherboards (Abit AV8 3rd eye, and the ASUS A8N-SLI) both giving me dual channel.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 06:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I don't believe it's possible to have 1.5gb running in dual channel. I'd like to see proof of that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:01 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 81
Default

Doesn't having a 64bit processor enable you to have around 8 gig of dual channel?

All I know is that 64 bit processors may help? Am I right, or is this incorrect?
SDtbawab6634n63 is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:14 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

This was on my old Abit motherboard: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v5...id/pcspecs.jpg

I currently only have 1gb in the board now, as I was kind and donated 512 temporarily for a build that had faulty ram.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-01-2006, 07:43 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Crazy. I honestly didn't think it would happen that way. I've seen some strange exceptions to the rule and all, but it just seemed like that wouldn't do it.

Thanks for the screen
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.