2GB = 384MB?! memory question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2006, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default 2GB = 384MB?! memory question

hey all, i'm new to this forum and hope someone can help me out with my question.

i have a K7S41GX motherboard and the manual says it can handle up to 2GB of memory but when i just ran SiSoftware Sandra the mainboard information said that the max installable memory is only 384MB.

i have no idea what's up and wondering if anyone has any suggestions on what to do. thanks!

ultimatide12 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 902
Send a message via AIM to Sevoma

Its problably just a bug in the app.

<a href=\"http://truecombat.us\"><img src=\"http://www.truecombat.us/images/buttons/tcusbannersmall.jpg\"></a>

Sevoma Web Hosting
Sevoma is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

push control alt delete, and check the performance tab to see all of your memory in kilobytes
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

Originally posted by talldude123
push control alt delete, and check the performance tab to see all of your memory in kilobytes
no, he is talking about whats the max he CAN put in, not how much he already has.
INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

SiSoftware Sandra especially in recent years has known to be fairly inaccurate. I wouldn't use that program as an end all solution to finding out computer specs.

If the manual says the board can handle 2gb, then it can.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 05:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2

yea, i figured i should i go with the manual. thanks guys.
ultimatide12 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

or you can go to www.crucial.com run the crucial scanner and see whast your max mem and what mem speed you need, etc.
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 07:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350

Try that CPU-Z
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

CPU-Z doesn't offer the maximum memory I don't think... I'm pretty sure. I'm browsing through the program right now, and I'm not seeing it. I'd definately refer to the manual as the most accurate source. The only way the manual would be wrong is if there is something wrong with your motherboard.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

yea, sandra has told me mine can only support 2gig and manual says 3gig.

i go by what the manual says...considering it's coming straight from the manufacturer and not a 3rd party program.

[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.