PDA for University Lectures

Status
Not open for further replies.

black1e44

Beta member
Hi there

Im heading to Uni in about a month and instead of lugging around a laptop with me to lecture I want to just use a PDA or Very mini Laptop with fold out keyboard to type up word docs.

I'm very new to all PDA activity as never really used one, so could i get some recommendations on a decent one. Maximum budget it £200/$360 inc. delivery and anything else.

- I need to be able to Create/Edit word documents
- Reliable (don't want it crashing in middle of lecture)
- Good battery
- Wi-Fi internet
- Don't entirely need it to be a phone

-Thanks-

Oh and I will be getting a iPhone 3G soon so if there is any application that lets me write up documents like word and allows me to transfer it to a PC let me know. Are Fold out key-boards bluetooth compatible with iPhone yet?

-

There isn't much of a PDA market with the influx of smartphones. PDAs have notoriously short battery lives when using wireless Internet. A much better solution would be an ultra portable laptop like the Acer EeePc.

The unlocked Nokia E90 is well over your budget. But it does everything you want plus more. It's 3g band isn't usable in the USA, but it's covered pretty much the rest of the world. It works great with high-end bluetooth stereo headphones. They may be cheaper with a plan, but wouldn't know who would carry it.

In my opinion, a good PDA is miles ahead of the lame stuff they call "smartphones" these days. My good old Dell Axim X50v (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED PDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111one) can outperform even the best lame slow WM6-based smartphones. Why? Today's so-called PDA market focuses on mobile connectivity while slacking off on processor, RAM, graphics, and local connectivity (WLAN/WiFi). The Axim X50v, on the other hand, was created at the peak of the "good PDA" era, when companies actually focused on these things.