So when and how did computers grab you?

Status
Not open for further replies.
My dad got a Packard Bell when we lived in Tucson in 1993. It booted from DOS... I remember playing basic games on it. I thought it was the coolest thing ever.

When we got stationed in Asia, my dad got a Gateway. It had a whole 233Mhz processor, 64MB of RAM and it was rockin' Win 95. It was our first PC with an internet connection. This was in early 1996. This is really when I got interested in computers. The rest as they say, was history.

My first personal tower was a Gateway Pentium III, 512MB of RAM with XP. I still have that tower, and it still works. My buddy was really into PC's and he taught me a lot in regards to formatting and what different parts were. Since then I am self taught by trial and error. I would buy old PC's at yard sales and work on them until I felt confident enough to work on my good towers. I worked my way up from there.

First PC had a 1Mhz processor, ran DOS and I could play either Space Invaders or Castle :p was awesome. A couple years later we moved to an AMD K2 350? I think? Running Win 95 like a boss, was amaazing. Then it stopped working, so my older bro blew it up when we went to troubleshoot it by switching the power switch on the PSU from 240v to 120v :grin: we were epic techies back then.

When I was 9 we started riding around the suburbs looking for old PCs to fix/upgrade/destroy. Did that until I was 17 lol, then my older bro got his license and we drove around looking for stuff instead. A LOT easier to chuck a pc in the boot than balance it on your handlebars on the way home haha.