Looking for a digital camera...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayce

Fully Optimized
I seen this one camera on TV, it was a Canon. I know it's out of my league as far as what I want to get because I know it was like 8 megapixel or something. However one feature about it I loved over my entry level Nikon 2100 is the fact that you can snapshot 3 times within 1 second.

That's one problem I had with my camera. I had to literally time the picture snap time.

Example: When I was at the Baltimore Aquarium and I knew the dolphins would zip out of the water and slam down, I had to time exactly when it would happen.

Can anybody suggest something for me? I don't exactly need 3 pictures per second, but I'd like to hit the button and BAM the camera takes the picture. Besides Nikon I have no experience with digital cameras.

I'd like to stay under 200 dollars, HOWEVER if for 300 I can get some magical superhuman camera that surpasses everything in existence I may consider it. More or less I'm looking for a START on camera searching...

New question. I'm trying to understand more about megapixels and whatnot...

Queston is this:

On staples I found that they have a "suggested maximum sized page" for the certain cameras. One thing I found is that the 4.0ish megapixel cameras are recommended for photo sized up to 11x14....... and 5.0ish megapixel cameras are recommended for photo sized up to 12x18.

Question is, if the maximum sized photo I had planned on printing out was 8x10, would the quality of the 5 megapixel be ANY different than the 4 megapixel?

AKA: Up until the "maximum sized page suggested" would both the 4 mpx and 5 mpx produce the exact same quality picture?