wireless router

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnboy007

Solid State Member
Hi, can anyone please help... I am using a belkin wireless router with my laptop, but every time I switch it on it connects to another person router in the area using the same channel 11 as myself under the wireless lan configeration. I therefore have to go to the wireless connection page and click on change advanced settings and then under wireless networks tick the box beside "use windows to configure my wireless network setrtings", to get my laptop to recognise and connect to my router. I have to go through this every time I switch on.

Surely this is not correct, can anyone tell me whatis wrong and how I can rectify this problem.

If you disconnect from your neighbors network youll get a warning saying windows will not automatically connect to that network anymore, click ok and it should stop connecting to that network.

thanks bruce 4 reply, as a novice I am not altogether sure how to disconnect from my neighbours network router, can you let me know how.

Thanks John

Right click on the wireless network icon on the bottom right and select "View Available Wireless Networks". You'll see your neighbor's wireless network, if it says Connected* then highlight it and click Disconnect on the bottom right.

On the left, click on "Change advanced settings", the adapter properties window pops up, now go to the Wireless Network tab, in the preferred networks section, if your neighbor's wireless network is there, remove it. Remove any other network listed there except for yours.

While still at the preferred networks section, if you see your wireless network, select it and click Properties. Go to the Connection tab and check "Connect when this network is in range" so when ever your computer starts up it will connect to your network automatically.