Wireless connection isues

Status
Not open for further replies.

coralcrazed

Beta member
Hello all, I am new to tech forums...

I am hoping someone can help me get set up wirelesly... here is what I have.

1. Windows vista 64 bit operating system
2. ISP= optimum online with motorolla sbv5222 modem
3. Linksys router model WRT54G v5 router

IO consider myself comuper savy but in no way a comuter expert. My router's setting is currently set up for my old computer and old DSL service which i have upgraded as above. So I need to get the routers and the modems settings so I can connect all of my wierless hardware to it. i am hopeing that the experts here on this site can be so kind and help me through this connection and settings.

regards,
CC

Is your new service dsl or cable?

You can do a hard reset on your router ad go through the setup wizard again.
Or you can just rerun the wizard.
Default ip of linksys is 192.168.1.1
type that umber ito a internet explorer window to get into your router setup pages.

Is your new service dsl or cable?

You can do a hard reset on your router ad go through the setup wizard again.
Or you can just rerun the wizard.
Default ip of linksys is 192.168.1.1
type that umber ito a internet explorer window to get into your router setup pages.

thanks for your responce... Yes i have cable internet now. I am aware of the linksys default IP... however, i will need step by step instruction from anyone willing to help in order to get the correct settings plugged into my router and/or modem. thanks

No need to change the wireless settings just need to setup for use with cable.

First I would plug the modem straight into your computer for the initial setup. Since it is cable it acts as dhcp and will get set up based upon the wired mac address of your computer. This is a good way to do it because if the router dies you can still access the internet by directly plugging the modem into your cable modem.