Windows Server 2008 + Belkin Router

torque454

Beta member
Hello. Newbie here. I am playing around with Windows Server 2008 and a combination of two networks. Currently the server is in one room, along with a hub and two computers (wired). The rest of the computers are in other rooms as is the cable modem and the Belkin router.

I am playing around with all kinds of things such as windows deployment services, network bridging (server and computers in the other rooms are connected to the belkin wirelessly.) The 2nd computer in the server room is connected to a hub which is also connected to the server. So there are two different networks. As I type this out, it came to me that I need to connect the server to the belkin with a wire, meaning it needs to be moved into the other room. That would eliminate part of my problem. But here is the other problem.

I want the router to share the internet, but Windows 2008 to be the DNS and DHCP servers. Is this possible? If its not, can the server be a domain controller and use the DHCP/DNS servers that the router has?

This is all very complicated and confusing to me, but also very fun. Gives me something to do :-D I just dont fully understand it yet. Help!

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
It is, realize that routers do NOT pass DHCP packets. DHCP broadcasts packets, a routers work at the third level of the network layer and don't pass broadcasts.

The only way to accomplish this is to either setup a DHCP Relay agent using another Server 2008 box on the other network, or configure your router to pass the DHCP traffic through. If you setup a Hub or dumb switch where the router is you wouldn't have this issue.

Guess i'm not sure what you mean. Heres what I did last night which resulted in major network problems.