simply tranfering o data from one to another PC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2004, 07:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

ah, k wasn't sure
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:50 AM   #12 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh
Default

man ya'll are making this way too complicated. all you need is a crossover cable (20$) and a network card in each PC. Im assuming both pc's have windows so just restart your computer in look in your network neighborhood, navigate to the other pc, and make sure both computers have full privilages for FTP and your all set to drag and drop your files. easy enough eh?
__________________

__________________
Thresh is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Good job reading what I posted. That's basically what I said (except the FTP part, and by the way FTP doesn't just "work" you need a server daemon to run it), except I explained it so someone who wasn't literate with computers could understand it.
__________________
BuckingFastard is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Default Re: simply tranfering o data from one to another PC

Quote:
Originally posted by gimme
just got a new pc wich does not have to be on the net all I want to do is move data back and forth. Does my second pc have to have internet connection to do this. I dont think so it must be realy easy like a usb cable connected between the two. Or am I wrong and i need to go and get hubs ,network adaptors and so on.

I have an external broadband cable modem connected via ethernet on board, an internal modem, network adaptor on board but says pci fast ethernet adaptor but it is not in a slot this pc is connected to the internet

and all i want is to transfer data to a new bog standard dell
and back again
specs
broadcom 440x/10/100 integrated controler network adaptor
modem intel(R)537edv9xdf pci
can this be done yes I think so by I have read all the threads and my mind is exploding with hubs, routes,tel cables coaxial cables, two male connectors, network setup wizard and so on
so can some one help with this simple problem and what I need to get. the pcs are 1 meter apart and all I need to do is transfer data both ways the second pc does not need internet accsess.
thanks in advance



If you just want common "file sharing" you can simply use a RJ45 crossover cable and then go and enable the file sharing.
__________________
pcparts4every1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Again, thank you for posting exactly what I said above. Read the previous posts before posting yourselves.


edit.....please refrain from flamming other members ::Mikesgroovin
__________________
BuckingFastard is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BuckingFastard
Again, thank you for posting exactly what I said above. You people are retarded. Read the previous posts before posting yourselves.

and may i suggest YOU read the rules of the forum before you go and call people "retarded"
__________________
pcparts4every1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:14 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

I apologize. However, you should read what people post before posting the exact same thing.
__________________
BuckingFastard is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 31
Default

oh great,you go and appologize AFTER i reported your post...oh well...sorry too.
__________________
pcparts4every1 is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 07:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

A little redundancy never hurt this forum. Please respect each other and their posts. We are all just trying to do the same thing here.....help other users out. A lot of us are on different levels of experience and skill. And with experience and skill also comes verbiage. A member may try to explain the same solution in a different manner than another member. It's important that we realize this and respect each other as we communicate on these forums.

Thanks for understanding...

::Mike
__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 08:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Except me, because I'm always right Just kidding, anyhow there is also a USB File sharing cable that has HIGH transfer speeds.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.