setting up 2 routers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michowski1

Baseband Member
I have 2 linksys wireless g routers and I want to set both of them up because im running the vonage internet phones and just ran out of plugs for everything. How do you go about setting up 2 routers?

Either put them on different subnets or disable DHCP on one of them.

It doesnt get any easier than that.

Hope that helps.

sry im a noob to networking but how do you disable dhcp on one of them. Is there a switch on the back or do you have to change that in the settings? and which one has be be plugged in from the modem. With or without dhcp

I dont know what your topology looks like.

Do you have two wifi routers and then like a voip router with both telecommunication ports and ethernet ports?

Or do you have two wifi routers and wireless wifi phones?

It all depends on which router you have set to receive your lease from your isp, or it should be setup like that.

Router1 receives your wan connection to your isp.
Router1 should have dhcp enabled for the internal network.
Router2 should have dhcp disabled. (basicly making it an Access point).

or

Router1 receives your wan connection to your isp.
Router1 should have dhcp enabled for the internal network.
Router2 is on a different subnet.

Subnets
Router1 (192.168.1.100)
Router2 (192.168.2.100)

If you have a voip router
Router1 and Router2 with either of the above mentioned setups, and then just put the voip router on its own subnet.

I personally have two wireless routers running on different subnets, and then a voip router running on a different subnet as well.

Router1 (192.168.1.100)
Router2 (192.168.2.100)
Voip Router (192.168.25.100)
or any variation.

Internal subnet masking is pretty straight forward in this aspect, it doesnt really matter how you subnet it, cause wasting address space isnt really a concern in your home network.