One computer on network not connecting to internet

Status
Not open for further replies.
To get into advanced settings: Control Panel > Network Connections > Right Click "Local Area Connection" > Click on Configure and these are the advanced properties.

To find your routers IP do the following:

1. Open CMD Prompt
2. Type ipconfig /all
3. Your "Default Gateway" will be your router's IP address (usually 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.2.1)
4. Type ping router ip -t EXAMPLE: ping 192.168.1.1 -t

For my office I would type: ping 10.10.1.1 -t this will keep pinging the IP address and not stop.

"ping 192.168.1.1 -t"

Is your router from your ISP? I am a premises technician for AT&T and while on a repair the customer was complaining of what seems to be a similar issue. Turned out, after checking some firewall settings on the router, it was denying access to the web... well not allowing DNS queries, odd because the computer still had access via IP address, like in your case being able to ping google on the west coast(8.8.8.8). I can't remember the specific setting, but check out the firewall settings and try disabling one setting at a time.

BTW, the firewall said it kicked in due to a virus accessing the net, or at least it thought it was a virus.

lasvegascomputer;

I did the ipconfig /release and flush dns but when I got to renew it wouldn't go through and the request timed out.

All other computers on the network are functioning fine.

I pinged the router and I got a response most of the time. About 7 out of 10 times.

I also tried a new ethernet cable.