Newbie needs network help

Status
Not open for further replies.

oqmattypo

Beta member
I have set up a 2 computer home network. Both computers are connected to my Linksys switch, the switch is connected to the cable modem. I know I should have a router but this can still work, problem is, I cant get it to work. It will only allow one computer to be on the internet at a time, and when the one computer that is working on the internet is showing the modem as its IP address starting with 66.***.XX.XX. When one computer shows that IP the other shows 162.***.XX.XX and that is an IP ***igned by windows which is also wrong. I'm new to the networking stuff, can someone tell me step by step what I need to do to set this up. One is 98, the other is XP.

You need a router. I don't know where you received information on how this would work with just a switch but it will not work. A switch will not use IP addresses in order to propigate traffic. It only uses a MAC address. The router uses the IP address and then carries a table that maps the MAC address with an IP address. You need a router to properly share this connection...otherwise only one PC will work at a time.

-Mike

the best way is get a router like mike says. the only way to get the switch to share your internet connection is by using (ICS) Internet Connection Sharing. one computer must remain turned on and serves the internet connection to all other machines.

the basic setup is plug modem to server through 1 network card. a second network card from server to switch's uplink or WAN port. and finally connect all other computers to the rest of the ports on the switch which will access internet from server. for more help on ICS please use windows help and support by clicking start button> help and support and search for ICS.