Newbie ADSL network problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

wongb18c

In Runtime
Greetings, I'm kind of new to networking so forgive me if I ask some really newbie questions. Yes, I did do a search first, but couldn't find anything. I guess this is too simple of an issue....

Basically, I have two computers in the house would like to link them together.

1. I have an ADSL signal coming in into one comp, I went out and bought a router yesterday and linked up the second comp.

2. Problem is, I can't get two computers to have internet access at the same time. If I dial and connect with one comp, the other comp won't be able to dial and connect. The converse is also true.

3. Everything seems to be hooked up correctly since both comps can receive the ADSL signal through the router, but just not at the same time. I have to log off the connection on one computer, if I want to connect with the other.

4. I tried to play around with network settings on one of the comps, I checked the network neighborhood and noticed at it does indeed have a local area network connection. This connection also appears on the lower right corner of the screen. However, this comp still can not access the internet. The same is true for the other comp. I'm still stuck at the problem - only one comp can access the net.

If anyone has any suggestions or can shed some light on my problem it would be appreciated. I'm sure it's a rather simple problem, I just can't figure it out since I've never really had any experience hooking two comps together. Thanks in advance for help.

Make sure you buy an ADSL router, it's suppose dial in for both the computers. You'll have to configured it to (account, password, authenication protocol type, phone number).

Ok,

I followed some simple instructions that came with the router and linked the two computers together.