Network Administration

Status
Not open for further replies.

gloomer

In Runtime
I've just set up a network between my windows xp and a windows 98.

I want to learn more about being a network Admin.

I've googled a lot and found lots of tutorials but most don't work, are outdated, etc...

If you guys have any links to some recent articles that would great.

Now a network Admin needs software for running the network.

I'd like to know some good suggestions for the following.

#1: A program that can control the entire network with commands. Like command all the computers to install AVG Free, or turn off windows firewall. Because if there were 20 computers on the network. It would be **** to do everything by hand.

#2: Let's say I'm a network admin at a school. I gotta keep my eye on all these punks. How could I monitor everything they are doing? I know that sounds weird but they do it in every school.

#3: I don't know if this exists or not, but is there a program that controls the "leakage" of a wireless router. I know that sounds advanced, using software to control the radio waves but I"m sure it's not impossible. That one piece of software would put an end to wardriving permanentley.

Thanks for taking the time to read throught this.

All the best.

What you are desribing would best be done with a flavor of Windows Server 2000 or 2003. After all, what you are describing is a client/server network and XP is for desktops and does not have server functionality in it, or at least the functions that you want to implement.

A great site for learning Windows admin is www.labmice.net
Lots of good admin stuff.

gloomer said:
#3: I don't know if this exists or not, but is there a program that controls the "leakage" of a wireless router. I know that sounds advanced, using software to control the radio waves but I"m sure it's not impossible. That one piece of software would put an end to wardriving permanentley.