modems, routers, gateways, ethernet, token ring..uughhh...

Status
Not open for further replies.

nothingman02

Solid State Member
Hi,
I am a newbie to the field of computer science. Ive recently made a career change from Mech. Engg. to computers. Im studying linux and the basics of h/w, OS, N/W etc and am planning to take up the RHCT and CCNA exams soon.
Im right now studying the n/w part and am stuck with this doubt and cant figure out despite all the google searches and would really appreciate some help.

THe doubt is about n/w hardware. What are the DIFFERENCES and SIMILARITIES between a modem and a router and a gateway. I mean if they all can transmit digital data, waht is the need for a modem? Cant a router connect to the ISP by itself? And what exactly is a gateway?

Secondly, are routers, hubs, switches, bridges and finally modems indepedent of the cabling media and physical layer topologies and technologies? I mean, does it matter if I have ethernet, token ring, and externally - telephone wires, cables, satellite, fiber optic etc to;
1) a Modem
2) a Router
3) a bridge

For instance, if I have network of PCs with ethernet NICs and cabling and another network of PCs with token ring NICs and cabling, can I simply connect these two with a hub? Or a switch or a router? Can I connect directly to the modem?
CCan the router communicate directly with the ISP irrespective of the media (fiber optics, DSL, cable, T1, Satellite etc) or do I have to have a modem?

I am new and am working very hard right now to catch up and learn and give the tests. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your patience and your time.

Hi and thanks for the reply.
I have been studing the OSI layers for a while now. I have a good idea about what happens in each layer but im getting stuck when it comes to selection.