Looking for advice - home network

Status
Not open for further replies.

w8nformyruca

Beta member
Hello to all, new around here. Looking for advice and after checking out some of the posts here, I think there are several here who would be able to help. I am having a house built and the deal I have worked out with the builder has him pulling cat5e/rg6 throughout the house to a central location (either in the basement or garage) with me responsible for tying everything together. What I am looking at is roughly 9 locations in the house where I will have cable and internet access. When those are tied together, will I have a lot of signal loss? What type of panel should I use to tie them all in? Sorry I am new to this but very intrigued, any help would be appreciated!

In the room where the wires come the best thing to use for organization is a patch panel. for cat6 you are looking for something like this.
Belkin : 12 Port Cat6 Patch Panel

They you would want to pick up a 12 port switch (gigabyte would be the way to go). you can also get a rack mount and get a small 2u to 4u case to mount in the location.

The cheaper way is to just get a 12 port switch and put ends on the cables and plug them into the switch.

You would also need a router that would connect from your modem then connect into the switch assuming you want internet to all locations.

Done correctly keeping in mind the maximum wire run is 100 meters then you will have no signal loss. If you have to make a run over 100 meters then you need to add a switch to boost the signal.

In the room where the wires come the best thing to use for organization is a patch panel. for cat6 you are looking for something like this.
Belkin : 12 Port Cat6 Patch Panel

They you would want to pick up a 12 port switch (gigabyte would be the way to go). you can also get a rack mount and get a small 2u to 4u case to mount in the location.