Home Network Setup Question

From the sounds of the setup here, you have a Levintion Telcom panel. I install these every other day. I am a telcom contractor.

The way you describe the wiring, you are wired as a phone system only, and just because the wired with cat 5/6, the phone only uses 2 wires.

It also sounds like you do not have the ablity to run another cat 5/6, correct?

Depending on what sixe the panal box is, you can put a data switch inside and it will be out of the way.

Can you post a picture of the panel box?

As for the wall jacks, I bet you will find that 4 to 6 contact plugs where installed and those are only used for the phone also. Either use's 8 contact plugs.

If you do things right, there is a way to use a standand cat 5/6 cable to allow both phone and either, but you have to be very careful on the configureation.

I was wrong at first, I took the panel apart and the cat5e cables are connected using all 8 wires but it's a tiny green pcb and then a phone cord is connected with 2 cables and then to nothing now, it used to be connected to a cable modem which what was used for cable internet and phone I'm assuming. But the wall jacks are all setup for Type A cat5 and all 8 wires are connected properly there, I can buy a switch or just put rj45's then plug them into my wire i get that part, but I just kind of need to figure out how to split my moms office into 2 ethernet ports with the easist method. I could run another cable but would cost me to buy an extra long ethernet cable and would be a pain getting in the attic and wiring it down the wall. I had a pic a while back posting this question let me see if i can find it.

It looks alot like this. http://image.become.com/imageserver...unchdown-telecom-module-with-line-seizure.jpg

The PCB has 6 ethernet cables properly wired with a configuration to it then has 1 phone line with 2 calbes that lead to no where now. Like I said thats not the issue though.

Last edited: