Crazy wi-fi setup in R-V Park!

Status
Not open for further replies.

zeico

Baseband Member
I live in an R-V Park, and use wi-fi here - as pitiful as it is. (Weak signal 3-4 "bars", periodic down-times, disconnects, etc.) The park needs help in providing this free service to residents, and I am not an expert when it comes to wi-fi - or ANY kind of networking.

As it is now, the park manager receives the wi-fi signal via DSL fed into a laptop computer in their office R-V. The laptop reportedly utilizes two routers: one is kept right in the office R-V beside the laptop (primary, from which most residents receive the wi-fi signal), and the secondary router is located in another building 50' away, and hard-wired from the laptop. A separate bridge in that building evidently serves as a secondary access point for the park residents to receive the wi-fi signal with their computers.

Does any of this make any sense?

They have an unused, uninstalled antenna (access point?), but it's not the typical omni-directional, "stick straight up in the air" wi-fi antenna that I have seen in so many R-V parks across the country. The damned thing reminds me of an old SPS-30 antenna we used to have aboard the USS Midway in Viet-Nam! (But smaller, of course.) Installing that curved, directional monstrosity would definitely limit reception and exclude the service to some of the park residents.

This park should not need anything special. It is small - 100 R-V spaces, at best.

How can this be simplified? They've got the DSL signal, and they've got the router. Isn't a good access point (antenna) on the roof all they need? What I need is a wiring diagram, I guess! After deciphering the park's setup here, I need for someone to "clear the cobwebs" from my mind and tell me what they need to buy. Like the access point. Any suggestions?