Converting signal from 3g modem to router - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2011, 11:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,483
Default Re: Converting signal from 3g modem to router

It's a very nice program; used it in my college dorm my freshman year on my desktop cuz our rooms only had 1 port, and I couldn't run both my laptop/desktop at the same time.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 12:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
BestComputerGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 91
Default Re: Converting signal from 3g modem to router

Correct me if I am wrong but couldn't you just bridge two connections such as a wired one of a the computer and the 3G modem? Then if you plugged your computer with the 3G modem into a router the computer would pass the Internet connection over into the wired network and from there you could use it normally.

First open up your network connections and hopefully your 3G modem will show up. Right click on it and select properties. There should be something about sharing. Share the Internet connection of the adapter.
Attachment 4829

Then you can bridge the connections. Lets say that Network 4 is your wired network and Wireless Network Connection 2 is your 3G modem. Right click > Bridge.
Attachment 4830

I don't have a 3G modem to test this with but it should work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg share-internet.jpg (57.6 KB, 54 views)
File Type: jpg bridge-network.jpg (95.6 KB, 53 views)
__________________

__________________
Free Computer Parts!
-----------
There are only 10 types of people: Those who understand binary and those who donít. Ė XD
BestComputerGeek is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 01:19 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Converting signal from 3g modem to router

Quote:
Originally Posted by BestComputerGeek View Post
Correct me if I am wrong but couldn't you just bridge two connections such as a wired one of a the computer and the 3G modem? Then if you plugged your computer with the 3G modem into a router the computer would pass the Internet connection over into the wired network and from there you could use it normally.

First open up your network connections and hopefully your 3G modem will show up. Right click on it and select properties. There should be something about sharing. Share the Internet connection of the adapter.
Attachment 4829

Then you can bridge the connections. Lets say that Network 4 is your wired network and Wireless Network Connection 2 is your 3G modem. Right click > Bridge.
Attachment 4830

I don't have a 3G modem to test this with but it should work.
I am back in the states and can not experiment all these good suggestions but yours is what I had in mind that could be done somehow. Thank you very much. Anymore suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
papitohead is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 01:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Knowitall!
 
strollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N. Calif.
Posts: 628
Default Re: Converting signal from 3g modem to router

Yes, you could use ICS (Internet Connection Sharing). The drawback to ICS (and Connectify too) is that in order for the machines sharing the connection to have access, the main machine must be powered on and be connected. With the broadband router option, any machine can use the connection without depending in any other machine. Of course then the router needs to be powered and connected via the USB 3g device.
strollin is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 02:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Default Re: Converting signal from 3g modem to router

Thanks Strollin, that would be no problem with me. My comp only goes off when I travel or when the power goes off. But yes, good input.
__________________

papitohead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Modem/Router as just a Modem (DG834Gv4) chrisbullen Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 12-09-2009 07:20 AM
Advice needed! Cable modem or combined modem/router? conrad_chaffee Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-29-2009 01:15 AM
Speedtouch 330 ADSL modem router and Netgear WGR614 v6 LAN w/l router compatibility. Raptor237 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-16-2006 07:31 PM
Modem - Router - Comp Router Can't Find Modem kahlos Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 01-07-2006 07:53 AM
I can not connect my wireless card to my modem signal sgwyldechild Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 06-23-2005 08:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.