ADSL problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Qzman

Solid State Member
First I have to say that I'm a hardware noob, so please be patient. Thank you. :)
I have connected one of my PCs (we will call it PC 1) to Internet via ADSL router. Everything was ok, there were no problems. And then I bought a new PC (let's call it PC 2). And that's where the problems started. It wouldn't connect. The thing is, I can't see LAN icon in my connections. When I try to switch (just relocate to other room, PC 2) the router and the whole thing, just as it is on PC 1, to PC 2, when I plug the cable into PC 2, the orange lamp in the back is on, and "Power", "LAN" and "ADSL" lamps on my router are also on, but "Act" (which determines if connection is active) is off.
How do I fix this?
Now if I missed to say anything of value, please ask.
Thanks for your time and energy. :happy:

Have you set the new pc to automatically assign an ip address?

In the command console, type: ipconfig

for your ethernet local area connection, see if there is an ip address listed. If there is, what is it?

I typed "ipconfig" and I got the message "Windows IP Configuration". And that's all. :(

ah, sorry. eh, course it would say that if you weren't connected in the first place :)

ok, so right now you have a cable you know works, plugged into a port on the router (also works) so the only possible failing point is the pc.

If the little light near the lan port on the pc comes on that could mean several things, depending on your motherboard (or pci lan card if your're using one)

Sometimes it means the connection is at Gigabit speeds.
Also could mean there are packet collisions
Googled around a bit, could also mean you're running at half-duplex

To make it a bit easier, please post back with your motherboard model, and whether you're using your onboard lan or a card.