Why Linux cannot replace Windows?

Status
Not open for further replies.
linux is too complicated for the average pc user I am a pro linux supporter but I can admit that there is the occasional moment when you have to type a code into the Terminal to fix a problem. the support for linux is also mainly forum based a lot of people cant be bothered with the hassle of fixing the problem them self when it is easier just to call up a technician or send it straight back to whoever manufactured it they don't know how or why a computer works they just want the pictures to appear on the screen so that they can do what they want to do

Linux is not too complicated for the average user. It's just that everyone is familiarized with Windows...

Think of the first time you used a non-DOS operating system. 99 chances out of 100, that OS was Windows. If you started learning to use a computer with Linux, you would probably be just as familiar with Linux as the average Windows user is.

i am not 'pro' any OS, but i just cant stand it when people defend windows on a basis that implys any other OS had a chance

i think you misunderstand my point about marketting, how can an operating system that is distributed for free pay for marketting? You are right in saying that marketting is a very important tool but to me that seems to contradict your point because it would give Microsoft products a natural edge over the 'competition'

I agree with WorldIndustries, i am always hearing stories of how complete novice computer users are given a Linux based OS and they take to it like it was totally natural. its usually only people who have been using windows for extended periods who find the transition difficult.