Mixed bag of college/job experience, not sure what to do next.

CoreyJames22

Beta member
I graduated from college in 2012, two year college program and i'm a little unsure which direction to turn.

My program was very board, some of the topics covered were..

MS Office
Hardware Basic/Advanced
Cisco courses covering basics, routing,switching,vlans, security and WLAN protocols.
Active Directory
SQL
Intro to java
Linux
Security

Needless to say i got my feet wet in many different areas, but nothing to get me an easy job out of college.

After graduation i spent a year at a PC refurbishing center, mostly hardware,software installation pretty hands on experience but nothing ground breaking. This was a contract position and i was eventually laid off.

The next 18 months were pretty crappy. I moved to a big city, had a hard time finding an IT job. I could blame the economy but it was partly due to my mediocre resume.

I found another job last August doing contract IT for a small retail store, this lasted about three months before i landed a great job doing tech support for a CMS/digital solutions company.

We were recently bought out by another big tech company, and they offer Tuition as one of the benefits.

This leads me to my question....

I have about 2500/year in tuition to play with, and was looking for some input on what i should take going forward.

I use tiny drips and drabs from my college training in every day work but feel i have forgotten some stuff along the way. I would really like to specialize in one particular niche, but i'm not sure which one is worth while.

Any advice is appreciated :)

I have about 2500/year in tuition to play with, and was looking for some input on what i should take going forward.

I use tiny drips and drabs from my college training in every day work but feel i have forgotten some stuff along the way. I would really like to specialize in one particular niche, but i'm not sure which one is worth while.

Any advice is appreciated :)