Career help needed asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

lbb87

Beta member
I want to have a career working with computers but I'm not sure exactly what I want to do.

Right now I'm interested in computer repairs and I guess the stuff that a computer technichian would do. It looks like the best thing for me to do would be to take an A+ class and then get certified.

But what do I do after that? I noticed that most companies like Best Buy and CompUSA require 1-2 years of prior experience for a computer technician. Where am I supposed to get this experience? I don't plan to spend the rest of my life working at Best Buy but I thought it would be a good place to start.

I'm totally lost as to what to do and what education I need. I'm not even sure I could make it as a computer technichian. I can't seem to find anyone you can help me or point me in the right direction. I graduated from high school but I don't want to go to college. I only want to take the classes I'll need for my career.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

That's always a tricky dilemma: Can't find work because you don't have any experience, and you can't get experience because you can't get a job.

Nearly every job posting will say that it requires job experience. This is sometimes misleading. How long have you been dealing with computers? Even if it's your own, or your friends/family, that can still account for something.

I took a 1-year course at my local Technical Institute that had a sole purpose of preparing me for vendor exams (like A+, CCNA, Net+, MCP). Don't count out college, though. Honestly, A+ alone will not get you very far. A+ will usually only get you a job at a computer shop or Bestbuy, etc. If you are lucky, you might move up the ladder in computer retail. That's fine, if you like that. But, it doesnt sound like that's what you are looking for.