Crysis V1.1 [first patch] - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2008, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

i just can't wait to see the negative responses to this thread apparently anything with "crysis" in the title is destined for flames on this forum!

well i've been dissecting the patch from Crytek to see it's merits. firstly i have to say (contrary to most posts) that it does seem to significantly (or at least noticeably) improve performance on XP 32 bit, single card systems. it does fix a few single player glitches, most obvious it is now at least possible to take a headshot on a KPA troop manning a turret, with a weapon other than the precision rifle.

HOWEVER the patch seems to have introduced glitches as well. at least in my case i have found it impossible to progress past the level "Relic" without massive repetiton on delta difficulty. essentially i hit a brick wall on this mission where it would crash at every checkpoint.

what this pretty much amounted to was a complete inability to progress past the second checkpoint on this level (the first being the initial). obviously this became an incredible annoyance. my immediate solution. well.......no prize to who guessed it. i reverted to the prepatched version. while i do miss out on the performance optimisations, i am able to play past the god forsaken checkpoint on "Relic".

respect to all the Crysis addicts,
Nitestick
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 02:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

its been out for a while now.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

believe it or not (no offence) i knew that . however looking through the first couple of pages of this section i can't see anything remotely close to discussing the pros and cons of the patch so i thought it was worth while voicing my opinion.

i installled the patch the day following it's release, though i haven't had the chance to play, let alone on delta until the last few days.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

I reinstalled it on my vista partition to see what the big deal was, and it was STILL unplayabe at 1920x1200 and very high using SLI gts512s, so i had to turn it back down to high and it looks exactly the same as it did in XP. That is to say, it looks like every other boring game out there. I just cant get into the game no matter how hard i try. At least its not crashing on me like it was the first time around i was playing it.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

so the patch basically succeeded in making the game more stable under Vista based OSs and somewhat unstable under XP. well isn't that just worth a LOL and a half!
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 04:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

Not sure, it was initially crashing on me in XP before the patch, i never tried it in vista until after the patch.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

I can't even install it. I get a read error every time. No matter what I've tried it won't go. Then....to top it off I go to post the problem to EA's customer support site and their server is down....for 3 days. GAWD I hate EA....!!!
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

sounds like a corrupt download. you think the customer support is bad....i just found out the bricks and mortar shop i bought my (now bricked) motherboard from won't do an in store replacement after 14 days. RMA here i come :'(
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

What store? This is one of the reasons i buy from microcenter, they have a 30 day return policy on all components. Heh i was actually able to even return my e6600 when i got my q6600.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 06:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Crysis V1.1 [first patch]

remember i am in the land down under . the store is called PLE computers. the motherboard is approximately 2 months old now.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis community finds way to get Dx10 features into XP/Dx9 Osiris PC Gaming 5 12-20-2007 09:30 AM
Crysis Very High in DX9 <[MaTT]> PC Gaming 20 12-20-2007 07:33 AM
Exclusive Crysis Multiplayer Beta Screenshots Osiris PC Gaming 12 10-03-2007 06:58 PM
Crysis Demo Delayed One Month Osiris PC Gaming 8 09-24-2007 04:47 PM
Crysis - Hands on...for those, wondering if they can run it.... b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-15-2007 02:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.