Newbie looking to create simple home server.

REM955

Beta member
Hello.
I have no real good experience with creating a "specialized" server.
Here is what I am looking to accomplish:

1. Have a small home media/security server.
  2. Allows access on another computer to this server to TV screen.
  3. Music/ video library management.
  4. Not break the bank.
I doubt that I really need more than a TB sized drive. I wouldn't mind just stuffing it all into a regular standard desktop, but then comes the question of server software.

I know of PLEX for media, but I haven't seen much in the way of what I am looking for. Good chance I just missed it.
As for security, I would like to use iSpy as it is something I have started to tinker a little bit with in terms of plugins. (Getting basics down...)

What can anyone suggest?

1. What do you mean by a "security" server? A firewall? Active Directory as a home-domain setup?
2. Do you mean for the media, or for actually accessing the server? You can just remote desktop into the server and leave it headless (no monitor/mouse/keyboard).
3. +1 for Plex
4. Depends on how much power you need really; I currently have an older Core 2 Duo e8400 system that I got for free running as my home server that runs several different kinds of services.

1: For security I meant to run the iSpy stuff off of. This is for security cams around my place, not as an intermediate between me and the outside connection.

2: I understand that as a possibility for dealing with the connection between one computer and another, but I would think there would be an easier solution to push whatever is on my computer screen to a TV in another room through this server and flip between that and the other media.

4: Well, that's the thing. I am hoping someone could offer an idea of how much I would actually need to potentially run everything concurrently.