Home Recording Issues.

Status
Not open for further replies.

hikaricloud

Golden Master
So I'm pretty new to the whole home recording studio thing (seeing as all my previous recording has been with desktop/webcam mics, lol...), and I just picked up some small decent equipment.

What I'm working with:

Tascam US-122
Sennheiser E835

I have a couple programs I use. My main one is FL Studio 9, and I also use Cool Edit Pro (oldie but goodie). Now I'm having some issues.

After installing the Tascam (compatibility mode FTW), the computer recognized it just fine, but when my mic is plugged in, no sound gets transmitted to the computer. Phantom power is on, volume is up, signal is coming through on the Tascam, but nothing is translating to the computer. Windows doesn't hear it, and neither do my programs. I even tried Audacity for kicks, no go.

So like I said, I'm pretty much a n00b when it comes to this sort of stuff, and I could use a little help. Any ideas?

I'm you're guy :D I love home recording.

Well what kind of input are you using from the mixer to the pc? If it's any kind of audiojack you may need to go into your sound section of your control panel and check that you are set to have an input/mic and that sound is being recognized.

Now if your using USB or if your still not getting sound in the program input you may need to check if there is other input options. Basically audio programs tends to need very specific information about where the sound is coming from.
It would most likely be in the section like preferences/options this is where at some point it will have a section for choosing where/what is in charge of input and what is in charge of output. So from the input part it should give you some other options try them all. Not always will the best option look like the correct one I've come to realize.

If I'm correct FruityLoops is freeware? If you're using freeware double check you have the latest.