Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Laptops and Notebooks > Netbooks
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2011, 05:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to unhunkyguy
Default Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up.

I acquired a 2GB stick of Corsair PC3-10600, it runs at 1333MHz. I installed it properly, closed up the Netbook and powered it on. Blank screen. I checked the memory module it had, which is a "Samsumg 1GB 1Rx8 PC3-10600S", and I confirmed that I did buy the correct spec for the Corsair. I don't know if it is due to the BIOS or if the memory module is not working. Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

unhunkyguy is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up.

What netbook model did you get? AFAIK, they don't use DDR3...
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to unhunkyguy
Default Re: Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up.

I am using a Lenovo IdeaPad s10-3t. I bought simple "Laptop Memory". In all the research I did I found that, strangely enough, it does use DDR3. The memory module that came with it explicitly says so(PC3-10600). The Corsair stick matches up perfectly with it.
unhunkyguy is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 06:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up.

Does it work in neither slot?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 06:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Send a message via MSN to unhunkyguy
Default Re: Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up.

The computer only has one slot.

I was checking Crucial's website, it says that this computer needs Non-ECC memory. Could this be why?
unhunkyguy is offline  
Old 08-09-2011, 03:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Right behind you
Posts: 173
Default Re: Upgraded RAM, but Netbook not booting up.

Don't know if this might exactly be the problem but I recently purchased Crucial RAM and I had to update my BIOS to get it working.
__________________

theopfor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
netbook question for netbook users peter_ming Netbooks 7 04-20-2009 03:39 AM
upgraded my RAM clark33 System Upgrades 6 01-13-2009 10:37 AM
upgraded to new aim realmike15 Internet Software and Browsers 5 05-19-2006 08:23 PM
upgraded my RAM Brew_WY New Systems | Building and Buying 5 03-26-2006 01:34 AM
Just upgraded pwjayleedy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 05-28-2005 11:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.