Binary

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pollzzy

Solid State Member
Hello.

Im new to complex proramming and was looking at Binary. I have a pretty good understanding of the binary alphabet, numeric system, etc. I was wondering, how do i actually create a binary command and where do i input it for it to take effect?

Wow... this is going to hurt my head a lot more than it'll hurt yours, but I'll give this a shot. First off, I've been up for way too long, if I sound stupid it's either because I'm stupid, or because I'm stupid tired. You can decide for yourselves which you want to believe, as for me, I will choose stupid tired. Correct me please, by all means, but no need for harshness towards the guy sleeping on the couch who means well. I'll shut up now before I start slurring my text.

Every processor understands instructions given to it using binary differently. Your computer understands 0's and 1's one way, and mine understands them in a completely different way. I can get you a link to MASM, Micro$oft's Assembler which *should* allow you to write binary code--I have no idea why you would ever want to do this, as the binary code will only be useful on your machine, but hey, it's your sanity you're about to throw out the window.

The assembly code should be able to be used anywhere... but I could be wrong on that. If I am please correct me before I do something stupid... I'm going to take a nap and make an attempt.

Here's a few technical terms and what I understand them to be. I could be wrong, but if I am, I'm happy with my ignorance.

Compilers take code and turn it into 8, 16, 24, 32, etc. bit representations of 1's and 0's.
Assemblers take those bits and turn them into 1's and 0's.
Processors take 1's and 0's and make your CPU tell your hard drive to spin.

Anyway, here's the link. I just hope you know what you're doing.

Download details: Microsoft Macro Assembler 8.0 (MASM) Package (x86)