x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2009, 08:47 PM   #21 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

^^ Very true. I have heard of someone hammering a socket 754 cpu into a 775 board so even the fact that it wouldn't fit doesn't seem to stop some people.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 09:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
^^ Very true. I have heard of someone hammering a socket 754 cpu into a 775 board so even the fact that it wouldn't fit doesn't seem to stop some people.
or cut there pci-e card to it could fit !!!
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 09:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

hey guys.
what happened to this thread?
and why is sombody suggesting i get an e5200.
my goal is to get the phenom II 940, but during that time, i decided to try out the 7750 and compair it to my 6400 for my sake, for my little bit of fun.
and to share the results to anyone who may be interested.

lets try to stay on topic , i dont want this thread closed for spam.

i still have another week before i get my mobo in. so i may see if a new bios update for my current board will support this chip and go ahead and get the ball rolling.

e5200 is a waste of money for me. if i was going with intel, it would be nothing less than a i7 920.

lets keep it in mind, i dont plan on having this 7750 for more than a month, i just wanted to toy with it.

as long as i can get it to 3.2, ill be happy as that will complete my tests.
anything over that, is just gravy.

i really didnt expect a power chip for $74.99.

thanks guys.

p.s. im sorry i do not use capital letters, its just the way i type
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 10:13 PM   #24 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

He wasn't telling you to get an e5200. I think he made that painfully clear. But he is right on the other aspects. An e5200 would most likely crush the 7750.

It wont be closed. Vernong is a mod and he is involved in the conversation.

I would like to see how the chips compare anyways. There has been a lot of speculation about the newer AMD chips in the forums here and the more numbers the better.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 10:16 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
He wasn't telling you to get an e5200. I think he made that painfully clear. But he is right on the other aspects. An e5200 would most likely crush the 7750.

It wont be closed. Vernong is a mod and he is involved in the conversation.

I would like to see how the chips compare anyways. There has been a lot of speculation about the newer AMD chips in the forums here and the more numbers the better.
Haha very true, but I'm prone to get off topic a lot

I agree with you, e5200 is pwnzor, but Puddle was not recommending it, simply saying that a Wolfie does 4.0ghz...

Btw, on a related note, Puddle mentioned an attempt at 4.1ghz with a 7750 BE on LN2? I must see it!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 10:23 PM   #26 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Btw, on a related note, Puddle mentioned an attempt at 4.1ghz with a 7750 BE on LN2?
I ran across a thread on xs abut it. It's a impressive clock for a x2 and I would guess 4.2ghz is not far from the amd record but I'm not sure.



My results with Athlon 7750 Black Edition - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 02:26 AM   #27 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default

new chip in old mobo.

here is cpu stock settings



will run superpi in one sec as well as 3dmark06

superpi on the 7750 @ stock settings



3dmark06 coming up
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 03:34 AM   #28 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

< 30 seconds in pi at 2.7 it is definitely faster than older chips. by a bit.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 03:43 AM   #29 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

3dmark06 @ stock speeds (cpu and gpu)




i also want to comment on my temps.
or maybe the 6400 is just one darn hot chip like i thought it was.

with the same cooler, and same thermal paste AS5 (new application of course)
my temps are reading in the mid 20's for idle, i have not checked load temps yet.

my 6400 ran in the mid 30's @ idle.

so i can say with confidence, that this 3drocket makes a fine "stock" cooler

i think i will OC this chip tomorrow. kinda late here now and with all the trouble i had with the bios flash, my nerves are too shot to attempt OC'ing anything lol.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-03-2009, 12:56 PM   #30 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

ok, so now for the OC'ing.

i was able to get to 3.2GHz soley on the multiplier.
raised to 15.5 and tested, then raised again to 16.
ran stable.

here is superpi for the 7750 @ 3.2GHz


this is 1.3 seconds faster than the 6400 @ same speed.
was hoping for more, but thats ok. i still have some headroom to OC this chip more.

bus speed and voltage have not been changed yet.

edit, this is my personal best superpi run to date, this score also beats the 6400 @ 3.36GHz.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E6750 or AM2 6400BE? Rig for roomy! hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 02-04-2008 07:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.