x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2009, 04:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
I'm rootin' for the 7750BE here since I'm planning on getting it. :P You should be able to hit 3.2 easily on it.
thats what im hoping.

should be easy with the core contact freezer + the silverstone fan on it.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

I am interested in just the plain old stock speed testing...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
I am interested in just the plain old stock speed testing...
dont worry, that will be the first thing i do

then i OC to 3.2 and test for the vs the 6400

then i OC to max i can

ive seen pics of 3.5 on air. so i have a lil bit to go after 3.2.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 09:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

You'll be able to hit higher than 3.2 with that cooler/fan you're getting. I've seen 3.2 on stock cooling... 3.3 they had a boot issue, but then again, standard crappy cooling. you should be able to hit at least 3.5...with any luck, 3.7 for a full 1ghz OC.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

^^ They only got the 7750 to 4.1ghz with ln2 so its unlikely 3.7ghz will be possible on air.

The e5200 is really the best option for overcloking in that price range since it can hit 4ghz on air.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
^^ They only got the 7750 to 4.1ghz with ln2 so its unlikely 3.7ghz will be possible on air.

If you want a cheap 4ghz cpu get a e5200.
Agreed...

The last part is works out if he can afford a new CPU, Board and Cooler (not that I'm flaming)

But the 6400+ should be slower than the 7750BE @ around the same speed, since the 7750 is faster clock per clock
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Agreed...

The last part is works out if he can afford a new CPU, Board and Cooler (not that I'm flaming)
I know, I was just saying the e5200 is currently the only cheap cpu that you will get to 4ghz on air. That doesn't mean its the best option for everyone. I will edit it to be more clear.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
I know, I was just saying the e5200 is currently the only cheap cpu that you will get to 4ghz on air. That doesn't mean its the best option for everyone. I will edit it to be more clear.
Ya I know what you meant, I just wanted to say that so the OP didn't get confused.. I didn't mean it to be mean.. my bad..

Speaking of an e5200, you plan on getting one?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

^^ I know, I still should have made it more clear so it didn't look like I was suggesting getting a lga775 cpu for a am2 board.

I would love to get a e5200 but buying a laptop pretty much killed any upgrade plans for the foreseeable future.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 08:45 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x2 6400BE vs x2 7750BE

Ya worth mentioning... after the whole "7800 won't work incident" (even though it was a troll, it still reminds me of the stupidity of some people..) it doesn't hurt to mention stuff like that
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E6750 or AM2 6400BE? Rig for roomy! hmammen New Systems | Building and Buying 23 02-04-2008 07:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.