Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2007, 02:06 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

wow nice wire management. I rate it a 10/10!!!
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:10 PM   #42 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

That can't be a 10. A 10 is where you barely see any wires at all. And I see a cluster on the bottom, with the big snake running up the side.

I'd give it a 8/10.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 02:21 PM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

yeah there would have been NO way to run the 24pin behind the tray. lol

i wasnt looking for perfection. just halfway decent so there isnt a mess of wires.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 07:54 PM   #44 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 242
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

where did you get the wiring sleeves at?
Sirius_GTO is offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 08:25 PM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

they were already on my PSU.
mgcook is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 03:21 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

Great work. What kind of paint did you use to coat the inside of your box? How did you apply it, spray or brush, or something else? Are there certain types of paint I cannot use? I definitaly wouldn't want anything that is heat sensitive or degrades in high heat.

Warhammer 40k paint is made for applying to metal. This would be my first guess, albeit a terrible one.

So what IS the skinny on painting?


P.S. Would you be willing to supply some pics of the dremel'ed out area? I'm curious to see the other angle you're not showing us. I understand if it's your secret, though =)
Sardonic is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 03:27 PM   #47 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

Spray paint man, no brushes here lol

Just standard spray paint works fine form what experience I've had. Although the more expensive it is, the better finish you'll get. I.E., walmart brand spray paint is a no no.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 11:36 PM   #48 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 347
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

Of course for it to stay on the metal, you;'ll need a bit of fine grit (400-800 grit paper) sand paper to sand every surface you p[lan on painting, and a good 3-4 layers of primer. I personally would think an ultra high gloss paint would work the best, that'
s what i plan on using this friday.
Alexinator is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 12:17 AM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

MG, you able to turn those hdd's around? that'd make it look so much better.


but very nice build. my next case is going to be that.
Static_11 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 01:40 PM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Wiring is done, everything is installed ~~ Pics

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardonic View Post
Great work. What kind of paint did you use to coat the inside of your box? How did you apply it, spray or brush, or something else? Are there certain types of paint I cannot use? I definitaly wouldn't want anything that is heat sensitive or degrades in high heat.

Warhammer 40k paint is made for applying to metal. This would be my first guess, albeit a terrible one.

So what IS the skinny on painting?


P.S. Would you be willing to supply some pics of the dremel'ed out area? I'm curious to see the other angle you're not showing us. I understand if it's your secret, though =)
i dont have any pics of the other side, cause well it was a PITA to get the side panel back on, and i dont wanna do that again LOL. i think i cut around 5-6 square holes.

i used a 400 grit to scuff it all up. then primered then did a 600 grit, then primered again. then i did a spray can of satin black. nothing to fancy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Static_11 View Post
MG, you able to turn those hdd's around? that'd make it look so much better.


but very nice build. my next case is going to be that.
i COULD but there would be very LITTLE room from them to the Ultra. not worth my time or effort IMO
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed Programs bigtom1990 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-19-2007 07:50 PM
Reformatted, now cannot see pics dieseldub Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 32 06-09-2007 11:08 AM
Just installed Vista, very good but 2 issues please help! jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 06-03-2007 03:53 PM
Wiring Max Power New Systems | Building and Buying 6 05-28-2007 11:32 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.