windows wont load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2004, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default windows wont load

built my first computer. AMD 64 3500+ asus av8 deluxe mobo, corsair 2-512 xms3200 ram, 2 seagate 160sata drives,liteon 1633s dvd. system will only boot with 1 stick of mem installed. when I install both sticks comp will not boot. When I tried to install windows xp home and pro the computer freezes after I agree by hitting F8 key to install.

Thanks in Advance
__________________

jetfixer is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Does it matter what stick you use? If only one stick works... than that is your problem right there! Also, you might want to consider getting memtest.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default

no I can install either stick in slot 1 and the system will boot
jetfixer is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default

no I can install either stick in slot 1 and the system will boot its only when both are installed
jetfixer is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

What PSU do you have... maybe your 2nd stick of RAM is just too much for your system.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default

i have a ultra x connect 500 watts power supply
jetfixer is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 01:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

Scratch that idea... lmao. Get memtest... and make sure your BIOS is up to date.
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 02:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
Default

thanks I updated the BIOS and everything is working great
jetfixer is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4
Default

No problem, good to hear.
__________________

Rizinc4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.