Why do i get artifacts when overclocking my 7800gt AT ALL? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2006, 11:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default Making 7800gt overclock more stable.. How to install gpu heatsink?

When i overclock my Jaton Geforce 7800gt graphics card even a little bit (30 mhz/ .5 ghz) I get artifacting on counterstrike: Source. (default is 400 mhz/ 1.0 ghz). The artifacts always look the same and are as follows: They look like rainbow colored spikes that appear usually near the middle of the screen and extend outwards. They are also pretty long and about a sixth of an inch thick. I have seen no other type of artifacting while overclocking. The artifacts look the same for when either the core or the memory is overclocked while the other isn't. I am extremely interested in overclocking the card, but it doesn't seem to be working out. When i set the option for automatically detecting optimal overclocking frequencies they're set 50 mhz/.1 ghz higher than normal (450/1.10) and yet i get artifacting anyway. I have heard that installing after market coolers can help to solve overclocking problems, but is there anything else i can do to improve the stability of an overclock? Also, i don't know where to buy these coolers for the graphics card specifically or even how to install them. are these similar to cpu heatsinks? Is it hard or difficult to do? Any help would be appreciated.

Note: when overclocking my gpu's supposed temperature is only about 60 degrees so WTF am i getting artifacts for? These temps are supposedly pretty **** low. Maybe i should try overclocking much higher or something? My artifacts, as explained above, aren't even of normal characteristics. This is making Begalsworth angry.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I've heard of some cards that artifact at certain speeds, and when you push it just slightly higher, the artifacts dissapear. Try pushing it just a little further, but keep an eye on your temps!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

Well, the card won't test on anything higher than 450 on the clock. I can test pretty much anything on the memory, however. I also don't get any artifacting when the memory is up, but as soon as the clock gets overclocked at all i get artifacts. Does this mean that i have a defective unit or do some cards just not overclock well?
stainer711 is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

The chips used by Jaton might be slightly below par (since I've never heard of Jaton before, to be honest), and it could mean that it might just not be a good overclocker. But overclock the memory some more, and see if it makes a difference! By the way, what does your temps look like under load?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

56 under load overclocked at 450/1.10
stainer711 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

BUMP
stainer711 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 12:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

56 degrees under load? :|

I don't think you really need an aftermarket cooler lol.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Stainer, have you tried overclocking it just a little more to see if it continues artifacting?
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 01:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

bump the memory up some more, when i did that it allowed me to raise my core clock
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 09:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I tried all of that above with no success. Is overclocking a graphics card solely dependent on the card or does it have something to do with the motherboard or other hardware?
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.