Where's a cheap computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2005, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 124
Default Where's a cheap computer?

I have asked here before about building my own comp and got plenty of help. So im asking for some more help here, or rather your own opinions.

Im looking for a simple and cheap computer for a friend of mine. She doesn't play games or anything like that, she will only want it for homework, playing music, going on the net, that sort of thing.
Im an Australian so people from other countries may find it difficult to help me.

She was looking at the Dimension 3000 from Dell seen here (http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/prod...pecstab#tabtop)
I had advised her that you may be better off to build it yourself, but upon trying this i found that i hit the $1300 price of the Dimension 3000 before i had chosen graphics/sound cards, case, power supply, motherboard.

In your opinion do you think this is an alright deal, or do you know of better ones that you can find? Dell is currently taking $100 off the price and doubling the hard drive to an 80 gig for free so i think it may be the best choice.

706 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 11:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007

i can tell you if shes just doing the basics, go for a Dell but not one so expensive.....they have great deals for desktops under 5-600 bucks, laptops 7-900.....

jaksback is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

if your not confident enough in building yourself, go with a dell. Another option is to go to a company like Tech Team, RPM, I-Tech, PcQuest (they are all Australian companies) and buy one of thier computers. Basicly they are computers build from parts, with a brand name stuck on the side, so usually they follow the standards better and are easier to upgrade, unlike dell which are horrbile to upgrade. From some of these companies, you can get a decent macine for under $1000 australian.

Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 12:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
willsko87's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240

thats not too bad as you get a monitor but as mentioned Dell's are hard to upgrade.

willsko87 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163

Try to find used 600+ Mhz Pentium III or 700 + AMD Duron
They are more than enough for anything but gaming.
You got to have 512MB memory though if you use Windows XP
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 08:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876

i hate dell... you have to take everything part just to put in a dvd drive...
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

ya...i suggest just finding a duron or p3..something like that.
i just got a p3 800 runnin' last night and i was word processin', surfin' the net and playin' music at a great pace.
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

yeah, you can get a Athlon xp 2200+, 256mb ram, Mobo with integrated graphics, 40gb hdd, 15in monitor, etc, that wont cost more than $600 Australian. That will do fine for most people just sufing, and word processing.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 03:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

you dont need anything really for that, I have a 450mhz P3 in the other room, that does all that at a great pace, with 98se.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 04:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327


that would be best for her imo great lil comp and shell prob like it

Echo_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.