Upgrading to AMD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Default Upgrading to AMD

I plan on upgrading my old dell, I think from around 2001. If I was home I would tell you the exact specs of that computer, but suffice it to say, it sucks. I plan on buying this: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...=MBM-AV8-3400A

this: http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...LT31556%20CASE

and this:http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=TC3H-1004

I was wondering if I'm going to have any problems with any of the software or getting my computer to run once I install this hardware. Any help or opinions is appreciated.

Edit: The old computer is an Intel P-4 1.8 Ghz, and that's pretty much all I know about.
__________________

Andrewc is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I strongly recomend buying from www.newegg.com. Buy everything individually, as you can choose what you want, keep the motherboard though as it is a really good one, especially for overclocking. get different ram, something like corsair. and make use of the dual channel (2X of the same stick)


Will you be gaming, if you are get a different graphics card. Don't be fooled by the amount of memory it has, as only the very top cards make use of 256mb's.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Its going to be for gaming, but right now that's pretty much the best I can afford.
Lemme check on newegg and see what I come up with.
Andrewc is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

You cant realy change out the Intel cpu for an AMD cpu and a differnt motherboard with dells can you?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Default

That's why I was asking.
Andrewc is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

If you post your budget, then members can pretty well put together an entire computer for you.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

no, not without modding the dells case.

get a amd 64 3000 the same motherboard, some named memory, a cheap case (make sure you can live with it) keep the psu from the dell(?) the rest I think you can keep as well.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
Default

My budget is about 650$ give or take.
Plan on keeping hard drive, cd rom, network card, and sound card from the dell, everything else I want to replace.
Andrewc is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I'll look on newegg, and I'll try to piece one together for you.

Are you going to keep your old monitor?
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

cpu $152.00:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-501&depa=0
mobo $139.00:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-186&depa=0
ram $109.00:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-530&depa=0
graphics $192.00:http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-220&depa=0


this comes to ~600, leaves you ~$50 for case and a cheap psu.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.