Trying to cool my CPU more. - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2005, 01:10 PM   #31 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119

Originally posted by gaara

Download and install motherboard monitor and see what temperature readings you are getting from it. It should be less vunerable to bad readouts and can hopefully determine whether your BIOS is simply giving a wrong temperature, or if your thermal probe is malfuctioning.
I tried that program a while ago but the readings were totally wrong and just couldn't have been correct. I thought this was just because my mobo wasn't equipped with sensors. How can I figure out if my mobo has temperature sensors? I can't find anything refering to temps in BIOS. Is there anything I can buy if i dont have sensors?

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 08:56 PM   #32 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

I just download Motherboard Monitor. My mobo is an older off-brand, but it was listed. I don't know how many mobos were listed, as the list was still compiling when I clicked mine, but it was up around 600 or so.

Just make sure that you choose the right mobo...make and model.

I'm running 44C on my CPU, and 36C in my case.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:05 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Yadgadge's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 83

Yeah, my mobo isn't supported by MBM5
In Your Face Space Coyote!

Soyo CK8 Dragon Plus
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
1GB PC3200 DDR
Thermaltake Polo 735 Heatsink
Leadtek WinFast 6600GT AGP
16X Samsung DVD Burner 5X DL
30GB Western Digital 7200RPM HDD
250GB Maxtor Internal HDD
250GB Western Digital External HDD
Thermaltake Purepower 480W
Windows XP Home SP2
Antec ATX Case
Yadgadge is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 11:17 PM   #34 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119

mine I guess just doesnt have sensors on it

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.