Trying to cool my CPU more. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 08:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
yea... but this one instance where it jumped to 128 indicates that there is a sensor reading problem, and if the readings r being screwed is it possible that ur cpu isn't really runnin at 60 and that the die or bios is shutting it down when it thinks its too hot but it really isn't?
Yeah that's what I said, bad readings from BIOS = bad sensor

They always have spares Yadgadge, so I'd just put in a request for an RMA, and tell them a repair won't fix this issue, unless they give you something like 'well we dont cover bad sensors' but that'd be stupid.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 11:36 PM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

yeah i was thinking of posting that as i was reading through- maybe theres something seriously wrong with the motherboard sensor?
__________________

Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I was having the same problem with running hot. Case 32 and CPU 53, on idle. 2500+ Barton. I originally put my heatsink clip on backwards cause there was no room between the PSU. Coolermaster X-dream Heatsink. I noticed that it wasn't sitting square to the CPU. Straightened out the thumb clip on the heatsink and put it back in the right way with some AS5 now I am running at a cool 29 case 46 CPU. Basically what I am saying here is for everyone that is having high CPU temps Check your heatsink to make sure it is seated properly.
mudder1_2000 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 08:27 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 20
Default

i really dont have much to add as far as solving your overheating problem, but i just built my 1st comp., and am using the same CPU that you are (Athlon 64 3000). when i'm idling in windows, my CPU is roughly 45C. i have a 120mm stock exhaust in the rear, i added a 60mm intake in the front blowing over my HD's and i also cut in a 80mm intake fan on the removable side panel that's aimed at my AGP slot. i also must add that i'm using a Zalman heatsink and fan, but you said that you're also using an after market sink and fan. all i'm saying is that you've tried everything possible and haven't gotten anywhere. have you talk to anyone at AMD?
JMorgan86 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 08:41 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

They make filters for fans, frozencpu has a whole bunch of them- http://www.frozencpu.com/scan/se=Fan...nu_search.html
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 08:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

http://mbm.livewiredev.com/

Download and install motherboard monitor and see what temperature readings you are getting from it. It should be less vunerable to bad readouts and can hopefully determine whether your BIOS is simply giving a wrong temperature, or if your thermal probe is malfuctioning.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 08:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

The highest that 3000+ should ever get if it is a winchester 939 is 70c which means for all intents and purposes you need to get it to 40-45 idle and 50-55 load max. How much as5 are you putting on the cpu when you pur the heatsink on? Check out this chart and look up yours if I am mistaken with it being a winnie:

__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 08:54 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via Yahoo to mike11973
Default

oops

__________________
NF7/S Rev2.0 : D25 Modded bios by -=Merlin=-(cpc on)
2500+M @ (250*10)
G.Skill ddr 400LA(TCCD)running 1:1@250
3-3-3-3
Saphire 9800 Pro
cpu-1.8v
ram-2.7v
chipset-1.6v

Knowledge IS power....dont be afraid to be open to it.


<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1493626296\">My aquamark score</a>

overclocking 101
mike11973 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 10:45 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 134
Default

Interesting chart. How come cpu's can run at different temps even tho they are the same speed? For example the Newcastle 3500+ can run 10c higher than the Winchester 3500+
__________________
>>AMD Athlon64 3500+ *NewCastle*
>>ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800PRO
>>1gb Corsair XMS TwinX 3200XLPRO
>>256mb Saphire Radeon X800PRO
>>160gb Maxtor Hard Disk
>>52X Plextor CDRW
>>12x Plextor DVD-R
>>Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
>>Creative Labs Gigaworks 7.1
Carniva is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 10:57 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

i was recently messing with the cooling of my cpu.
It was at 50*C idle and this is what i did.

first i reaseated the heatsing with arctic silver 5.
this brought my cpu down to 48*C
(i had 2 case fans, one in(front) and one out(back))

next i made a cardboard ducting system from my 2 spare 5" drive bays to my cpu fan. and added an fan on the input end of the duct. this brought my cpu down to 46*C idle (55* full load)

after i felt that this was a bit high so i went into my bios and changed my cpus core voltage from its rated 1.6v to 1.5v my temps droped imediately to 38.C idle and 45*C full load.
the cpu has remained fully stable at its peak load even with the voltage drop.

now that my system is running cool i am happy. and i did it for $15, (for the arctic silver 5 and a fan for my duct).

im going to get a liquid coolant system when i get some spare cash, because ive heard that people have got their cpus down to 15*C.

NOTE: if you can run your cpu at a lower voltage stabaly, it is an idea to think about, because your cpus life span will increase.

here are 2 pics so you can see the ducting in my computer.
theyre kinda blurry, my digital cameras battery was dying.
the duct isnt too pretty, but i dont have a side window yet (that mods on its way) so i dont need to worry, but when i do get one, ill make it look better.
Front
Inside
__________________

__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.