to SLi or not - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default to SLi or not

Would you rather SLI a 6600GT, or go ahead and buy one 6800GT?

or would you SLI a 6600, or buy one 6600GT

is there a performance difference between two cards and one. i heard that the 6800GT is better then 6600GT sli.
__________________

PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, on the Lake. Its my backyard :)
Posts: 296
Default

benchmark wise the 6600gt sli'ed is better, but game wise the 6800gt is the clear winner, buy the 6800gt then later down the road sli that, and your have and even better winner.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 555 unlocked to X4 B55 @3.5 | 8GB GSkill Sniper series | Asus M4A89GTD Pro/Usb3 | 2x XFX HD6850 | 600W OCZ ModXStream | Thermaltake V9 Black edition | Corsair H50 | 2x 1TB Samsung HD's
Heatware
TipsySmile is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

so just buy one now, then once the prices go down buy another one!?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814122209

would this be good for SLiing, i know the heatsnik is big and i would have to take it out...its big

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130215

much better, would rather buy this, or buy the leadtek and OC to an ultra, cause i really dont want to buy another heatsink for the eVGA
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Much better to get the eVGA one, I have heard the leadtek has issues, and that is a DAMN big 6800 anyways.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

but the eVGA is like 30 dollars more expensicve, and it would get to HOT if i OC to an ultra. and if your on a tight budget
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 01:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You won't have to take the heatsink off when putting them in SLI, as there is a slot inbetween the two PCIE slots.

I prefer the Leadtek, nice big ALL copper heatsink for a cheaper price. Leadtek has not got issues either.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

how would a 6800 perform in bf2?

and if the 6800 doesnt do so well, i might as well get the 6800GT for 100 dollars more, is it worth it?

this
amd athlon 64 3000+ venice
2 gigs OCZ enhanced latency
9800 pro, agp 128mb

or

amd athlon 64 3000+ venice
1 gig of OCZ performance series
6800GT, pci x16 256mb.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The bottom one defiantly. The 9800pro is a old card, that was the best in its day, but needs to retire now. It also lacks PSM3.

On my system (I have a 6800 vanila) if I put everything on high (1280 X 960) on BF2, I would get a smooth frame rate, until I change direction quickly, then I get a few big jumps, then it will go back to normal smooth frame rate. There is something you have to put on medium or low, due to it being a resource hog, but you will have to search for what it is.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 05:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

i would go with your 2nd one that 6800gt is much better, plus that 9800 is old.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.