Should I bother with AM cooling? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2008, 06:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

buy some Arctic Cooling paste before you spend money on a HSF.
56C load is nothing to get worked up about. and you said most games are running 50C anyway.

your motherboard's bios possibly has a fan control, however it should be defaulted already to full @ the temps you are talking about.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 02-26-2008, 07:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CntdwnToExtn View Post
buy some Arctic Cooling paste before you spend money on a HSF.
56C load is nothing to get worked up about. and you said most games are running 50C anyway.

your motherboard's bios possibly has a fan control, however it should be defaulted already to full @ the temps you are talking about.
He already ordered it, plus it comes with the thermal on already, and it makes less noise than stock.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-27-2008, 04:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Yeah it should be coming in tomorrow, I'll post back any news on changes.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 06:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Ok I just got it in today, I gotta go to work soon so I'll prob mess with it after work or tomorrow, does anyone have any advice for me, this my first time doing this, I got Articlean 2, but man this HSF is heavy, so any advice on how I should go about this safely and efficiently?

Btw should I face the fan to the back of the PC or the front, I know it says back but I have an intake fan on the side of my case and a exhaust fan mounted on top in the middle, thats' why I'm wondering.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 08:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
that probably wasn't because of the temperature... many stock CPU's come at 50 C load or even a 40 C idle... stability almost always has nothing to do with temperature unless your reaching safety throttling or shutoff temps...

a hot CPU won't actually increase room temperature at all... maybe by a few C? if you notice even with a hot CPU, your case will remain just above room temperature...
lol, i can feel my room getting pretty hot when running prime....
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 09:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Niverive View Post
Btw should I face the fan to the back of the PC or the front, I know it says back but I have an intake fan on the side of my case and a exhaust fan mounted on top in the middle, thats' why I'm wondering.
I'd point it towards the back,I pointed mine that way and i also switched my top fan to intake and it dropped my temps pretty quik,I only have a cheap 3200+ but its oced to 2.6 and never breaks more than 34*c on heavy load with my fans set up like that.
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 10:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

I might be able to move that fan to the back but I dunno if it'd be good to have two intake fans, and no exhaust fans, I could put the fan in the back and leave it as an exhaust fan, any suggestions?
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

I didnt move any of my fans, i just installed it with the fan pullin air in from the back but the rear fan still pulls out. My temps are good anyways since the fan pulls air from the sides too.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 05:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Ok well this thing was **** to put in I took the old one off, cleaned the CPU with Articlean, then I was checking to see how it would fit, I had to cut off the ends of the clip, and not only that but there was thermal residue on the socket and a little bit stuck inbetween some of the pins but there was no way I could clean it so I just left it since it still works, atm I'm running about 10 C cooler than normal, we'll see how it runs tho, I've only had it on for about 15 min, it was hard to get the clips on, I had to take out the top exhaust fan so I could get out the PSU that was in the way, but finally got in on, had to disable the smart fan feature too cause it kept turning my computer off cause the fan was running too slow. Anyways I'll post again temps later tonight and then again in a week after it gets better conductivity.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 01:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: Should I bother with AM cooling?

Does this stuff smell in its first week? I came in my room after going out for about an hour and I walk in and it smells bad, I can't describe the smell, there's nothing different in this room cept that new fan with the MX-2.
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Cooling Guide SirCyber Overclocking and Modding 5 01-03-2008 12:58 PM
Do i need NB/GPU Cooling? weezerguy187 Overclocking and Modding 0 11-13-2007 11:15 AM
Cool looking Gigabyte water cooling case Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-14-2007 06:50 PM
Water Cooling mozinga New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-21-2007 12:20 PM
cheap water cooling siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-22-2007 09:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.