Is RAM my Problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2003, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Skelett
Question Is RAM my Problem?

Okay, heres the deal....lemme just give you my basic PC specs first.... i have a 1.6Ghz P4; 1500 "mother board" RAM (i dunno what else to call it); 256 MB of DDR RAM; Radion 9700 Pro, and Windows XP..... (i know thats not very detailed, but i think it'll do)

Okay... i play a game called Raven Shield (Tom Clancy) and my computer strugles with FPS (Frames per second)... and frankly...its starting to tick me off... i use a RAM booster and that seems to raise my FPS slightly... But do you guys think that the RAM is really causing the drop in FPS, or is it my POS 1.6 p.4

*Starts Thinking* Or is it both and i just got ripped off by gateway......like everyone said i would? lol
__________________

Skelett is offline  
Old 12-01-2003, 06:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Skelett
Default

thanks bro, i have all the newest drivers....so i think RAm is teh prob, and u jsut confirmed, it ,lol....
__________________

Skelett is offline  
Old 12-06-2003, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Your graphics card should be more than enough to run that game with all the details if you are playing at 1024x768, especially if you have AF and FSAA off. If you are still lagging it is most definatly a ram problem. 512 seems to be the standard for gamming.
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 12-06-2003, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no he did not confirm that the memory is your problem, you put those words into his mouth. i would think it is a software problems probably from your drivers being installed incorrectly.

your 9700 is very good card and 256MB would not be causing your games to suffer that babdly. what is your FPS in the game you mentioned?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Skelett
Default

I was Playing Raven Shield...and i was getting about 30 FPS when lucky, and about a 15-20 average....i know this game is not the best for FPS, but maybe if i did what that one guy said...turn the AF and the FSAA, can anyone walk me thru that?
Skelett is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.