Question about the ram divider - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 09:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I think he means that you won't see a big up in performance? I'm not really sure. All I want to know is if if i can overclock a amd 64 with 1ghz ram that is under 200 dollars to 2.4 ghz.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Do you mean 1 GB of RAM?

If so, then yes, you probably can. Especially if you get a Venice core. I have a Winchester core and it is an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ and I hit 2.3 GHz no problem. My RAM is around 210 MHz with the FSB at about 250 or a little bit higher. You should be able to get that speed at least. It rates better on the 3DMark tests than it did before, so that is why I was wondering what was meant by a LOSS in performance.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Loss in performance meaning that your system is running slower than it would be if it were on a 1:01 ratio.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah, what gaara said, I didn't mean it like "ahh yeah 1.8GHz would be faster than 2.4GHz since you don't have it 1:1"

I'm basing it all off of running 1:1 and if it's not you'll lose performance compared to if it was.......in other words 200x12 = 2.4GHz with 1:1 would be better and faster than if you had 250x9.5 and was running the RAM still at 200.....even though they are both 2.4GHz (or close to it because 250x9.5 is 2.375 technically) the one performing 1:1 would be best......now of course raising the multi isn't an option unless you have an FX series chip but this was just for sake of the arguement.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-04-2005, 09:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I kinda figured that is what you might have meant, but I wasn't quite sure. Thanks for clearing that up though.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I meant overclock to 2.4 w/o having to resort to a divider.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Depends what kind of RAM and processor you get. If I were you, I'd go with an AMD Athlon 3200+ socket 939 or 3500+. That way you don't have to up the FSB 55 MHz to get it to 2.4 GHz. You'll only have to up a 3200+ 40 MHz or a 3500+ about 19 MHz or so. However, if you get good RAM, you may be able to get another 55 MHz out of it. It all depends on the quality of the RAM and the type of processor though.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.