powers up but nothing else - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2004, 09:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Default

so even though its a different core than the 2 my motherboard supports, it should still work?

thanks a lot for all the reply's
__________________

dj2187 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 09:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Well, if its the same slot and the same FSB it doesnt really make **** of a difference what core its made from. Unless the mobo cant handle the hotter core. Doubtful. Just keep trying, if you have any spare parts switch them up and make sure none of your parts are defective. Did you get any beep codes from the MOBO? If so, you should check the booklet and find out what they mean.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 09:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 546
Default

Ya but that problem happens ALOT when Ram isn't seated right so really make sure its in there good. You got your 9600SE for 129.99$, I got my 9800SE for the same price.
__________________

Musjunk22 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 10:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Default

ok ive checked a bunch of stuff, reseted the video card, moved the ram around, checked all the connections. One thing i can think of is that my processor may not be seated correctly or the fan is in way too tightly and crooked causing the processor to be seted sttrangely. I was trying to get the freakin fan out and it WILL NOT MOVE. Are fans able to be removed after insertion and also is it a good idea to reseat the processor? the clamp on the one side of the fan wont close, so i think the fans in wrong.

o ya and i got my Gfx card for like 79.99 after rebate.
dj2187 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 11:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Get that HSF off your processor man, and check to make sure you havent bent any pins. If you have, you must be very very very very careful. NO VISE GRIPS. I've been successful in bending pins back. That tilted cpu could be your problem....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 11:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Default

the godamn fan refuses to budge. I tried for a good 10 minutes. My freakin fingers are hurting. There must be a way fans are take off.
dj2187 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 11:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Use a small flathead screwdriver. Very carefully dude...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 01:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

yea ity would suk to screw up now that ur like almost there, lol no pressure ; )
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 01:10 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 372
Default

yea it would suk to screw up now that ur like almost there, lol no pressure ; )
__________________

<i>Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups</i>
Gl\l0m!$h is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 01:14 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 14
Default

k fan got off but now im thinking its the freking monitor. Or perhaps the graphics card. I looked at the connector from the monitor the the card and it was missing a pin. Thought that could screw things up. noticed it after all this.

i dont know if this means anything but the comp does make sounds kinda like its booting up when i press power. no beeps.
__________________

dj2187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.