Please help Serial ATA HDD and new system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 02:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 7
Default

im newb but this thing happened to me once, when instaling xp.. it wouldn't boot up, it would start the installation all over again. i check bios and changed teh 1st boot device.. did ya try it?
__________________

fbiboy is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

right click the cd in my computer and choose open. It is using the auotrun which does a check on the mobo.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Ok got that. I started windows pushed F6 it installed the drivers off of the floppy and I couldn't believe it but it detected my hard drive and started installing windows but now after the first reboot when it is getting ready to boot from the hdd it will say" verifying DMI pool" then the screen will go black and not do anything. This thing is driving me crazy!!!!
lee42lee is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 04:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

ok take the hard drive out and hit really really hard with a sledge hammer, then put it back in and see if it still spins * :P It will make you feel sooo much better.

*I AM JOKING DO NOT DO THAT!*

I wonder if you have a bad harddrive. Does the bios detect it correctly?

If so I would suggest you remove any other devices from that connector if there are and make sure this drive is plugged into one end and the other is right into the mother board.

Next I would use setup to delete all the partitions on the drive and then create a partition format it ntfs and try again. Don't go over (what is the old dos limit 8gb?) for the OS drive. If it works then you can try increasing it later with partition magic or something.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-14-2005, 01:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

My friend had the exact same problem. He got around it by installing windows with his HD connected with IDE. Then once it was done he connected it with SATA and it worked fine. This is probably a last resort and easy way out but yeah..If you need to then try it.
Chris
__________________

zildjianchris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.