Overclocking problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2007, 01:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Overclocking problem

I am trying to overclock. I raised the fsb to 344 and lowered the multiplier to 3 in order to get 3ghz. But then when I save it to bios and boot up xp everest shows that the multiplier is still at 9 but the fsb has been lowered to 380. What is the problem?
__________________

Mike9182 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Overclocking problem

You lowered your cpu multiplier to 3 from 9?
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Overclocking problem

oh srry, wrong number I lowered the multiplier to 9 from 10.
Mike9182 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 01:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Overclocking problem

Now everest shows that the multiplier is 7 and the fsb is 381.18. I checked the bios again and it still says that the multiplier is set at 9 and the fsb at 344
Mike9182 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Overclocking problem

Check it with CPUZ, I feel that will give better reading, Everest always seemed weird to me. Also, it may be doing that stepping thing (i forget what its called) where it will lowers the multiplier when there is no load on it then jumps up when there is.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 02:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Overclocking problem

how do I disable the stepping, also I have orthos running, and I am folding so my usage is at 100%.
Mike9182 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Overclocking problem

I'm your at full load then you should be using the correct multiplier. The stepping thing is something like cpu eist under I think advanced BIOS options, that is if you have it (I believe it depends on the MOBO, but has it on the DS3R).

Here an Article on it just for reference.
X-bit labs - Intel Pentium 4 6XX and Intel Pentium 4 Extreme Edition 3.73GHz CPU Review (page 5)
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 03:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Overclocking problem

It is disabled but cpuz still shows the same thing.
Mike9182 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 10:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Overclocking problem

I changed the multiplier back to the default 10 and everything started showing the correct clock. It seemed like the gigabyte easytune software was messing stuff up when the clock was at 9, although I am not sure what was doing it. I uninistalled easytune and might try again with a multiplier of 9 eventually.
Mike9182 is offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 11:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Altoona, PA
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to Mike9182
Default Re: Overclocking problem

Anything higher than 270 fsb at a multiplier of 10 causes the system not to start. Windows boots up right away, then after you try to restart it won't post. Could someone tell me what I need to do differently and/or what my bottleneck is.
__________________

Mike9182 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Shutdown problem when overclocking Zatio89 Overclocking and Modding 6 05-20-2007 09:50 PM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.