Overclocking E6600 - Bios DDR2 settings AUTO? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2006, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default Overclocking E6600 - Bios DDR2 settings AUTO?

Hi and thanks for taking the time to read this.

My setup:

Gigabyte GA 965pDS4
Core2Duo e6600 2.4Ghz (with stock cooler running at a constant 1700rpm giving a steady 23deg cpu temp on idle... ((a nice surprise!))
2x1gb Geil 800mhz 4.4.4.12 DDR2
X1900XT ICEq3 (running at 640mhz clock and 730Mhz mem) - conservative o/c... its new and expensive ok... if its sweats.. i start to!
Epsilon 600W PSU... the beast that ATI used to test this card... and by all accounts a bomb proof PSU.
2x80 Gb Samsung spin point SATA in RAID 0
Akasa Zen case with 2x 12cm fans (F/R)
1xDVDRW, 1x200GB Maxtor ATA
Win XP home 32bit

The question...

Would like to bump up the FSB on this E6600. It is at present doing 266Mhz with a multiplyer of 9. Giving a 2.394 Ghz Speed.
In bios i have to set the DDR2 multiplier up. On other boards i see ratios... guess this is sort of the same thing.

With the FSB doing 266 i set the RAM multiplyer to 3 to get the 800mhz performance. (Auto setting leaves it at 667Mhz)

So... if i change the FSB i need to change the RAM settings. .. otherwise i might be asking too much of the RAM.

- - If i set the RAM to "AUTO" in bios am i then able to rely on the board working out the best ratio (RAM multiplier) if i start to increase the FSB? - -

I have used Easytuner5 in windows and started to push up the FSB (leaving the bios settings as i stated above with the ram set to 800mhz)... the result was that the RAM started to climb from 800Mhz very quickly as i increased the FSB only small increments.

Ideally i would like the CPU to be getting on for 2.8Ghz and the RAM to be around 800Mhz. . .

Any/all advice welcome!

Cheers,

Max
__________________

__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Ideally i would like the CPU to be getting on for 2.8Ghz and the RAM to be around 800Mhz. . .
For 2.8 I would use the following settings:

CPU Multi = 7
FSB = 400
RAM Divider = 2 = 1:1
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 07:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Default

Got it sorted thanks... no need any more replies.

Cheers.

Max
__________________
Max
Max2559 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
For 2.8 I would use the following settings:

CPU Multi = 7
FSB = 400
RAM Divider = 2 = 1:1
i thought e6600 had a 9 multiplier
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
i thought e6600 had a 9 multiplier
Adjustable downward
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

sorry, wrong thread.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.